former members of the constitutional court


Born year: 1952

He was a member of the Constitutional Court between June 1999 and July 2008.

After graduating from the Faculty of Law of Eötvös Loránd University of Budapest (ELTE) in 1976, he started teaching at the Department of Constitutional Law in the same year and became Head of Department on 1 July 1991. He obtained his candidate’s degree in 1988 and qualified as a university lecturer in 1998. His main field of research is Parliamentary Law. He was appointed full-time professor in June 1999. For two decades he worked as secretary and then President of the Students’ Scientific Society of the Faculty. In 1988 and 1989 he was Educational Deputy of the Dean. He is president of the Faculty’s committee on habilitation (qualification as university lecturer).
Between 1995 and 1998 he worked as a permanent adviser to the Parliamentary Committee on the Preparation of the Constitution. A founding member of the Independent Forum of Lawyers, of the Hungarian Association of People’s Colleges, of the Hungarian Political Science Association as well as of the Society of Constitutional Lawyers, between 1995 and 1998 he was President of the Scientific Committee of the Hungarian Society of Lawyers and of the National Consumer Protection Society. For two election periods he was a member of the general assembly of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. In 1989 he was Secretary of the National Electoral Presidium and in 1994 a member of the National Electoral Board, of which he became President in 1997.